Ekologi Terumbu Karang (CORE)

South China Sea (SCS) is known as part of global centre of biodiversity for marine organism especially coral reefs, which provide a number of ecosystem services, such as food from small-scale fisheries, income from tourism and shoreline protection against wave and erosion. During the Anthropocene, coral reefs are impacted by various natural and anthropogenic disturbances influencing the health status of the coral reefs.

The Coral Reef Ecology group (CORE) aims to monitor and assess the reef ecosystem in the South China Sea as well as to studies the coral biology and socio-economy aspects.

Research approaches involve field survey at reef ecosystem which involve SCUBA diving, application of innovative applications by complementing traditional ecological approaches with advancement in techniques such as coral video transect (CVT), stereo – fish underwater video (Stereo-FUV), multi-beam echo sounder (MBES), UAV drone and USBL underwater positioning. Advancement for living tissues analysis involve omic technology, fatty acid markers, stable isotope and DNA methods. Beside field survey, well‐maintained coral‐microcosm systems provide a good opportunity for performing global‐change simulations under controlled conditions and allow significant hypothesis testing.

CORE group provide better insights into the complex interactions that build the resilience of the reef ecosystem in South China Sea. The knowledge needed to understand and make intelligent decisions related to conservation, climate change and resource management.

Mainly Focuses

  • Coral reef community structure
  • Multiple stressors to reef ecosystem
  • Reef Mapping
  • Artificial reefs
  • Coral reproductive biology & growth
  • Stress response in coral
  • Coral disease
  • Socio-economy


  • Prof. Dr. Zainudin bin Bachok (Marine Ecology – INOS)
  • Prof. Dr. Aidy @ Mohamed Shawal bin M Muslim (Remote Sensing – INOS) 
  • Assoc. Prof. Chm. Dr. Poh Seng Chee (Chemistry – FSSM)
  • Dr. James Tan Chun Hong (Coral Biology & Ecology – FSSM)
  • Dr. Rumeaida binti Mat Piah (Fish Population Dynamic – FPSM)
  • Dr. Izwandy bin Idris (Invert. Biol. & Ecology – INOS)
  • Dr. Zaleha Mohamad (Socio-economy – FPEPS)
  • Dr. Lee Jen Nie (Coral Biology – FSSM)
  • Dr. Noorhaslinda binti Kulup Abdul Rashid (Socio Economy – FPEPS)
  • Dr. Nursalwa binti Baharuddin (Malacology – FSSM)
  • Dr. Maizah binti M. Abdullah (Marine Ecology – FSSM)
  • Dr. Yusof Shuaib bin Ibrahim (Invertebrate Taxonomy, Microplastics – FSSM)
  • Dr. Jasnizat Saidin (Microbiology  – FSSM)
  • Dr. Muhammad Hafiz bin Borkhanuddin (Parasitology – FSSM)
  • Dr. Siti Nur Tahirah binti Jaafar (Proteomic – FSSM)
  • Afiq Durani bin Mohd Fahmi (Conservation Biology – FSSM)
  • Ts. Chm. Dr. Wan Mohd Afiq bin Wan Mohd Khalik (Environmental Chemistry – FSSM)
  • Dr. Nur Hidayah binti Roseli (Physical Oceanography – FSSM)
  • Dr. Tuan Nurul Sabiqah bin Tuan Anuar (Micro-plastics Analysis – FSSM)
  • Dr. Maisarah binti Jaafar (Environmental Chemistry – FSSM)
  • Dr. Noorlin bin Mohamad (Environ-Human Health – FSSM)
  • Dr. Ku Mohd Kalkausar bin Ku Yusof (Chemometric  – FSSM)
  • Yusri bin Yusuf (Coral Reef Fish – FSSM)
  • Idham bin Khalil (Remote Sensing – FSSM)
  • Meii binti Mohd Norizam (Fish Ecology – FSSM)
  • Yong Jaw Chuen (Chemical Oceanography – FSSM)